A South African study visa is issued for the duration of your studies at a specific school, college or university, with a maximum of eight years for primary school, six years for secondary and the length of the degree or other qualification at tertiary level. You can renew a South African student visa as often as necessary.

A South African student visa only allows you to study abroad in South Africa at the school or college for which it was issued; if you want to study at a different school or college, you will need to commence a new process of applying for a South African student visa.

If you need to apply for a change of visa status or to renew your South African study visa, you can do so from within South Africa. You must send your renewal application at least 60 days before your South African study visa is due to expire. If it lapses you will be automatically de-registered.